Agricultural Engineering Department is one of the Line Departments implementing IAMWARM Project. World Bank has apportioned funds to the tune of US$ 75.40 millions equivalent to Rs. 300 Crores approx. towards implementation of Agricultural Engineering components.


The foremost objective of AED is to increase the income of the farming community. The second objective is Water Savings and the third one is labour savings. These three objectives are achieved by adopting the following methodologies.
  • By introduction of Micro Irrigation System, i.e. installing Drip & Sprinkler Irrigation systems.

    • Water is applied to the root zone of the crop, at required quantity, at required interval. By this, total vigor of the crop improves and hence the Yield increases.
    • Weed growth is limited around the plant and hence expenditure on Weeding is reduced.
    • Cost of Labour for irrigation is reduced.

  • By promoting innovative, novel implements, the drudgery of farm labour and the requirement of labour are reduced and hence total cost of cultivation is reduced.

  • By construction of Farm Ponds in the farmer’s field to harvest the excess run off water input will be augmented / supplemented through Open / Tube wells.

  • By installing buried PVC pipe line system from the sluice point to the ayacut

    • The water conveyance efficiency improves

    • Hydrants provided at the field will be interlinked to Micro Irrigation systems to improve application efficiency

These activities were carried out in the following 9 Sub Basins during 2007 – 08 (Pl see annexure)

  1. Pambar

  2. South Vellar

  3. Upper Vellar

  4. Varaganathi

  5. Kottakaraiyar

  6. Manimuthar

  7. Arjunanadhi

  8. Palar (PAP)

  9. Aliyar (PAP)

During 2008 – 09, the AED activities will be carried out in the above mentioned Sub Basins, besides the following 16 Sub Basins.(Pl see annexure)

  1. Agniyar

  2. Ambuliyar

  3. Koundanya nadhi

  4. Poiney

  5. Swethanadhi

  6. Pennaiar up to krishnagiri

  7. Chinnar

  8. Anaivari

  9. Upper gundar

  10. Therkkar

  11. Upper vaigai

  12. Varattar & nagallar

  13. Sengottaiyar

  14. Sinthapalli

  15. Kalingalar

  16. Nichapa nadhi


::: IAMWARM :::
Copy Right to TN IAMWARM Project